Planning Board


The Planning Board's regular meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month beginning at 5:30 PM. The meetings are held at the Historic Train Depot located at 115 S. Dickerson Street, Burgaw.


  • Jennifer Hansen (Chairperson)
  • Frederick Lewis
  • Sam Guidry (Vice Chairperson)
  • Matthew Boney
  • Char-Lynn Robinson
  • John Johnson
  • Stacy Jernigan (ETJ Member)

The Planning Board is an advisory board comprised of seven members of which one member shall reside in the extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) and at least three shall be residents of the town. No more than two qualified non-resident business and/or property owners within the Town of Burgaw’s jurisdiction may be appointed by the Board of Commissioners to serve at any one time. 


The Planning Board reviews all development proposals for rezoning and other development related requests. The Planning Board also reviews and makes recommendations for revisions and additions to the Unified Development Ordinance (UDO). The Board of Commissioners relies on the Planning Board for guidance; the Planning and Zoning Board has no judicial authority. There are no term limits.